top of page

Sweet Potato Roasted Red Pepper Bisque (Ultimate Reset)




I have had so many people who have wanted my recipe for Sweet Potato Red Pepper Bisque, but I have to be honest, it is not mine. Well, most of it is not mine. Back in January 2013, my husband and I did the Beachbody Ultimate Reset and we LOVED all the recipes but one of my favorites was this one. However, I always like to add a few of my own things. We always like to cook for our whole family rather than just for us, when we do these types of challenges because our kids should learn the importance of eating healthy and learn to love eating healthy just like we do. We believe they can learn it early and change their perspective on food and eating for life...I pray.

Ok, enough said, here is the recipe, concocted for a family of five and of course with some left over, because we love to have our dinner for lunch the next day (makes eating healthy much easier :))

*** This is made based on using a Vitamix but if you don't have one then just substitute a food processor where I use the Vitamix and then heat the soup over the stove in a large pot till desired temperature and flavors are full.

INGREDIENTS:

  • 5 Medium or 3 leg sweet potatoes

  • 1 1/2 large red bell peppers, cut into 1/4th pieces so they are flat.

  • 3 tsp grated ginger

  • 4 tsp olive oil

  • 3-4 cups low sodium vegetable broth or water (based on what you want... hint *** I purchase the organic vegetable paste and use the hot water from boiling the sweet potatoes, rather than plain water. This adds to flavor)

  • salt, to taste, if desired (I find that I don't need it with the vegetable broth)

  • Onion powder, to taste, I think I put about 2 tsp...not sure really :)

DIRECTIONS:

  • Cut the sweet potatoes in small portions and boil until soft. I wash them and leave the skins on. However, this will all be based on if you have a Vitamix or not and how well your food processor will process the skins.

  • Meanwhile, place the outside of the red peppers on a fry pan, lightly brushed with olive oil, and allow them to blacken. When done,

place in small bowl for about 10 minutes till cooled down. When cooled, run under cold water, peel the blackened skins off. Use paper towel to lightly dry off the red peppers and set aside.

  • When sweet potatoes are done, place in Vitamix, then red peppers, grated ginger, olive oil, vegetable broth, onion powder and salt, if desired.

  • Turn on low, then increase to 10, then high. Let blend until steam is coming from the top or sides are very hot ( about 3 minutes or so).

  • Blend in food processor if you don't have a vitamix, when totally blended together and smooth texture, transfer to large pot and warm on the stove until the desired temperature.

  • ENJOY!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page