top of page

Genesis 1-6


One of the most important and vital lessons I have learned over the years is that the majority of all answers to biblical issues, struggles, and questions must all begin at the start of Genesis. Furthermore, how fitting that it starts with "In the beginning God..." Look no further than our reading yesterday in the New Testament, and we saw it parallelled in John 1, "In the beginning was the Word..."


It is fantastic that this reading plan juxtaposes John 1 to Genesis 1's reading because they are so close in the creation content. One of the wonderful aspects to see is although Genesis does not use the name Jesus or talk about Jesus being apart of the creative aspect other than in the "Us" form, John declares that Jesus was directly involved, "He was with God in the beginning. All things were created through Him, and apart from Him, not one thing was created that has been created. Life was in Him, and that life was the light of men" (vv. 3-4).

Something else I found quite interesting is the fact that both John 1 and Genesis 1 focus on light. Now, John 1 declares that John the Baptist is going to reveal that there comes one who is going to be the light of the world whereas Genesis 1 emphasizes the fact that God created light, light which separates day and night, light from darkness. Interesting though isn't it? Jesus is the light... the light that shines in the darkness.

Practically, one of the take-a-ways that I got from Genesis 1 was: - "God Said" and it was so... I was thinking about the fact that it can be so easy for me to read Genesis as a nursery rhyme rather than the story of how the world was created. God spoke, and the world was created. - God said - light - God said - expanse, the separation between waters, and it was so. - God said - let there be dry land, it appeared - God said - let the earth produce vegetation, and it was so. ... etc I do not think that we often realize the magnitude of what occurred. We take it for granted. I realize that I must take it for granted, because in reality if I truly believe and understand what I read in just the first part of Genesis 1, how can I lack trust in what God is doing in my life even though I cannot see it or quite comprehend it. He spoke, and all of creation was so. Furthermore - it was good - very good!

Genesis 3 reminds us of what occurs when we give authority to someone/something in our life to which it does not belong. In Genesis 2, the tree of the knowledge of good and evil was already in the garden, on display and available for Adam and Eve. However, they were not tempted to take from it. The problem came once they allowed themselves to listen to the serpent and give him authority to speak into their lives. Once they did that, all of the sudden, the fruit from the tree became enticing to the eye and they felt they had to have what it seemed to offer.

Two primary things went wrong:


1. They were given the command to rule and have dominion over the earth/animals. Despite this, they ended up allowing the serpent to come into the garden and they listened to him and became a slave. They no longer had dominion.

2. Instead of listening and obeying the command of the Lord, "thou shalt not take from the tree of the knowledge of good and evil," they listened to the serpent's distorted version of the truth and let him become their authority in their lives rather than God. They were now estranged from God, each other, and the world.

The same words that God spoke to Cain shed light on the principle that was wrong with Adam and Eve, "if you do what is right, won't you be accepted? But, if you do not do what is right, sin is crouching at the door. Its desire is for you, but you must rule over it." (4:7)

Practical Application: I find that this is one of the most challenging parts of life - thinking about the crouching, the desire, and ruling over it. What about you? However, I also find that when I resist, with the strength and grace of God, I am so glad and at peace. Whereas, on the contrary, like I stated yesterday when I have given in and am tempted and become guilty, I feel nothing but shame. I am so glad that the word of God does not stop in Genesis 6, that it does not stop with the fact that we have to "do" what is right to be accepted. We know that that will never be enough. The latest fad of media quoting, "You are Enough" almost makes me sick to my stomach because it gives a false sense of security. We never have, are not, and will never be enough. That is exactly why God sent His one and only Son to die on the cross for our sins. Even now, as a believer in Christ, I (by myself) am not enough. "But by the grace of God, I am what I am" (1 Cor. 15:10a).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page