top of page

Voluntary Enslavement


Life can be soooo stressful! I think about all the things that I have to do and how quickly it just becomes a routine part of my life; rushing around, getting things done, being a part of programs, school work, going shopping, and working.

"But in the past, when you didn't know God, you were enslaved to things that by nature are not gods. But now, since you know God, or rather have become known by God, how can you turn back again to the weak and bankrupt elemental forces. Do you want to be enslaved to them all over again?" Galatians 4:8-9

I wonder how much of my day, my life, is geared toward voluntary enslavement. I am not talking about debt but the things to which I place my time and energy toward that have NOTHING to do with furthering the kingdom of Heaven, nothing to do with growing closer to the Lord. Sure it's true we have to live our lives responsibly, cleaning house, cooking, and taking care of our family but most of us take it beyond the necessity and make many of life's responsibilities the end pursuit.

Before we knew Christ, before we had a Redeemer, and a purpose for living, those things were our god. But they are not by nature a god at all. They are things and nothing more! In the end they will not save me, they will not bring me eternal happiness, or worth. In all honesty, they do not bring me worth in the present. They can't because they have no eternal value. I have earthly and eternal worth because I have been created in the image of God, I have eternal security and happiness because I believe the Lord Jesus died on the cross for my sins and rose again. The only thing these "bankrupt elemental forces" do is occupy my thoughts, time, and energy to the point that I am not using my body, time, and money for a real god, the God Most High, Jesus Christ!

Paul is not saying that we should go off the deep end and be irresponsible, not take care of our homes, our bodies, and our families, but he is reminding us, urging us, to take a look at our lives and check to see if we are living them under voluntary enslavement to things that are not and will never be a god or are we voluntarily committing ourselves to the glory of a living, breathing, radical, committed, AWESOME God?!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page