top of page

John 1:1-18


This morning I woke up and contemplated the year 2018. It was an amalgamation of emotions. Feelings of gratefulness that God chose to save my husband's military career and bring us to wonderful Colorado Springs. Thankful for my job that he has so graciously and providentially given. Thankful as I see my ever emotionally, spiritually, and socially maturing teenagers adjust to the move, new church, school, home, and friendships. Yet, even despite God's awesome show of kindness and graciousness amidst some of my struggles and hardships over the past year, I couldn't help but feel a bit overwhelmed by the one emotion that can often hold me captive despite His goodness: guilt. Guilt over my sins. Guilt over my weaknesses. Guilt over my shame that I have not been able to stand as strong against temptations as I would have hoped.

So, what did I do? I got on my knees and I prayed. Prayed for forgiveness.


You know what the very best part of this morning on January 1, 2019 was? It was God's amazing reminder of who He is through His Word. The part that was so touching for me this am was out of John 1:4-5; 12:

"Life was in Him, and that life was the light of men. That light shines in the darkness, yet the darkness did not overcome it...But to all who did receive Him, He gave them the right to be children of God, to those who believe in His name..."

I needed to be reminded that although I struggle, although I am still a sinner, one, I am a child of God because I have believed and called on His name and, two, His light will always shine in the darkness, no matter how dark things seem to be.

From December 31st to Jan 1st, they really are simply one more day. There is nothing special about them, nothing mystical or spiritual. For many of you, you may not have been or be thinking "Happy New Year!" You may see nothing more than darkness. I tell you that there is hope and that hope is in the light, and that light does not come from within yourself but from within the light of Jesus Christ. He is the light of the world. He is the only One that can be the difference for me, for you, for any of us in 2019. I pray that you will join me in knowing Him greater and learning to become more like Him in 2019.

God bless,

Pamela Cubas

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page