top of page

Fake Much?


I read something outside of the Bible that talked about not being fake. It was saying how we are fake when...we act like our job is more important than it is, or our marriage better than it really is. BUT it got me to thinking about how so often others really believe that we, Christians, can be so fake because we say we love God, we do good works, but then we go and do something that's not in God's word, we sin.

I wouldn't call that fake, that's just sinning.


Think about the word "fake", in tons of the definitions it means "not being genuine/a counterfeit". So here's my opinion: when I try to act as the world wants me to act, when I act contrary to how God wants me to act, THEN I am being fake. I'm a child of God, and so when I try to make the world happy with my choices or show an attitude that is not Christlike, then I am absolutely fake, not acting as a child of God (who I really am). To sin and then go to church is not fake. Yes the church is full of sinners and hypocrites, the only difference is that we are actually trying to do something about it. God calls his children to fellowship with other believers, to gain more knowledge, and to praise His name. When I sin, I guarantee it's because I'm being fake and trying to please myself and the world around me. If I had been genuine to my life in Christ I would not have sinned.

"...put off your old self, which belongs to your former manner of life and is corrupt through deceitful desires, and to be renewed in the spirit of your minds, and to put on the new self, created after the likeness of God in true righteousness and holiness" (Ephesians 4:22-24).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page