top of page

Bring It On


I'm not going to lie, the last couple of weeks have been tough. There seemed to be "disappointment" after "disappointment". Of course, that's according to my plan, but nevertheless it's disappointing and hurts. Life is hard sometimes...but... (yes when you are a child of God there is always a "but")

"Happy are the people whose strength is in You, whose hearts are set on the pilgrimage. As they pass through the Valley...they make it a source of springwater; even the autumn rain will cover it with blessings. (Psalm 84:5-6).


Wow. I was really convicted. I've caught myself moping because of my pilgrimage and the valley I seem to be in. In the Psalms these people were on a "real" pilgrimage a "real" valley. And for many of us, it was like no pilgrimage we have or will ever be on. But they had their heats SET on it. They found strength in it. They made it a source of springwater; springwater meant life and growth.

If I'm looking at my pilgrimage from a self-perspective, all about me and what I expected or want, I will be sorely disappointed. But, if I look at what God is doing, have faith on His promises (to prosper me and not to harm me), and on what I know, rather than what I see and feel, I can find the strength and joy only He can give. If I trust that the Valley is there for a reason I can find joy in my circumstances, knowing that God will use it all to create "endurance...so that [I] may be mature and complete, lacking nothing" (James 1:2-4).

Perspective on our pilgrimage changes EVERYTHING. I'm learning that it is WAY more important how I respond to what happens to me, rather than what happens to me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page